BAŅUTA

Musical theatre after Alfrēds Kalniņš

Hauen und Stechen

BAŅUTA

Musical theatre after Alfrēds Kalniņš

Hauen und Stechen

The music theater collective Hauen und Stechen was invited to stage the first Latvian national opera together with artists from Riga: They follow the life of the young partisan Banuta between alienation and rejection, pagan love rituals and the self-determined desire for happiness.

Hardly rescued from the war, the young partisan Baņuta loses her newly wed husband to a revenge killing. The plot overturns: visions of death and magical signs, alienation and rejection, prohibitions, oaths, pagan love rituals and the self-determined desire for happiness determine her life in a foreign land until the end. A mythical past confronts the experiences of the wars of the 20th century in Eastern Europe, whose struggles did not end, especially for the women, even after their return from the front.

In the summer of 2020, the scenic concept was first adapted for a film that fuses opera, music theater and contemporary performativity, which will be shown next door in a matinee performance at the Brotfabrik. The new production of the opera by Alfrēds Kalniņš can now be seen for the first time in Germany - live at the Theater im Delphi.

---
HAUEN UND STECHEN
The music theater collective HAUEN UND STECHEN was founded in 2012 and works on a new music theater language that is engaged and expressive in terms of content and aesthetics. The focus of its artistic work is the intensive examination of classical opera works and their translation into disparate art spaces and the polyphonic sound world of a collective. The collective has performed at venues including the Stuttgart State Opera, the Bavarian State Opera, the Théâtre de l'Athénée in Paris, the Deutsche Oper Berlin, the Sophiensælen, the Neuköllner Oper and the Ballhaus Ost, as well as in cellars, a disused brewery, barracks, garages, a painter's apartment, a Swiss hotel, the Akademie der Künste Berlin and in a car.

Music Theater
Start on Caligariplatz in front of the theater

Wednesday

31. Aug | 7:00 pm

Tickets

Thursday

1. Sep | 7:00 pm

Tickets

Friday

2. Sep | 7:00 pm

Tickets

Saturday

3. Sep | 7:00 pm

Tickets
Admission charge: 10 € - 13 €
duration: ca. 180 min | 1 pause

Latvian, German, English

Soprano: Angela Braun, Laura Grecka
Actors: Gina-Lisa Maiwald, Dainis Sumišķis
Acting, Live Video: Āris Matesovičs
Baritone: David Ristau
Clarinet: Jēkabs Nīmanis
Piano: Kārlis Tirzītis
Direction & Skript version: Franziska Kronfoth
Musical direction & Arrangement : Jēkabs Nīmanis
Stage Design & Costumes: Lotta Hench
Video Cut: Ieva Stade
Dramaturgy: Evarts Melnalksnis
Production: Laura Hörold, Marta Kontiņa & Elizabete Palasiosa
Assistant Director: Artūrs Čukurs
Assistant Stage Design: Inga Bermaka
Assistant Costumes: Nikola Ščadro

A production of the music theater collective Hauen und Stechen in co-production with StoryHub. Funded by the Hauptstadtkulturfonds, Goethe-Institut and VV Foundation and supported by „Sansusī“.

BAŅUTA

Musiktheater nach Alfrēds Kalniņš

Hauen und Stechen

BAŅUTA

Musiktheater nach Alfrēds Kalniņš

Hauen und Stechen

Das Musiktheaterkollektiv Hauen und Stechen wurde eingeladen, gemeinsam mit Künstler:innen aus Riga die erste lettische Nationaloper zu inszenieren: Sie folgen dem Leben der jungen Partisanin Banuta zwischen Entfremdung und Ablehnung, heidnischen Liebesritualen und dem selbstbestimmten Wunsch nach Glück.

Kaum aus dem Krieg gerettet, verliert die junge Partisanin Baņuta ihren frisch angetrauten Ehemann durch einen Rachemord. Die Handlung überschlägt sich: Visionen von Tod und magische Zeichen, Entfremdung und Ablehnung, Verbote, Schwüre, heidnische Liebesrituale und der selbstbestimmte Wunsch nach Glück bestimmen bis zuletzt ihr Leben in der Fremde. Eine mythische Vergangenheit konfrontiert sich mit den Erfahrungen der Kriege des 20. Jahrhunderts in Osteuropa, deren Kämpfe insbesondere für die Frauen auch nach der Rückkehr von der Front nicht endeten.

Im Sommer 2020 wurde die szenische Konzeption zunächst für einen Film adaptiert, in dem Oper, Musiktheater und zeitgenössische Performativität verschmelzen, und der nebenan in einer Matineevorstellung in der Brotfabrik zu sehen sein wird. Die neue Inszenierung der Oper von Alfrēds Kalniņš ist nun erstmals in Deutschland zu sehen - live im Theater im Delphi.

---
HAUEN UND STECHEN
Das Musiktheaterkollektiv HAUEN UND STECHEN wurde 2012 gegründet und arbeitet an einer neuen Musiktheatersprache, die inhaltlich und ästhetisch engagiert und expressiv ist. Im Mittelpunkt seiner künstlerischen Arbeit stehen die intensive Auseinandersetzung mit den klassischen Opernwerken und ihre Übersetzung in disparate Kunst-Räume und die polyphone Klangwelt eines Kollektivs. Das Kollektiv spielte u. a. an der Staatsoper Stuttgart, der Bayerischen Staatsoper, im Théâtre de l’Athénée in Paris, der Deutschen Oper Berlin, den Sophiensælen, der Neuköllner Oper und im Ballhaus Ost, außerdem in Kellern, einer stillgelegten Brauerei, Kasernen, Garagen, einer Malerwohnung, einem Schweizer Hotel, der Akademie der Künste Berlin und in einem Auto.

Musiktheater
Start auf dem Caligariplatz vor dem Theater

Mittwoch

31. Aug | 19:00 Uhr

Tickets

Donnerstag

1. Sep | 19:00 Uhr

Tickets

Freitag

2. Sep | 19:00 Uhr

Tickets

Samstag

3. Sep | 19:00 Uhr

Tickets
Eintrittspreis: 10 € - 13 €
Dauer: ca. 180 Min | 1 Pause

Lettisch, Deutsch, Englisch

Sopran: Angela Braun, Laura Grecka
Schauspiel: Gina-Lisa Maiwald, Dainis Sumišķis
Schauspiel, Live-Video: Āris Matesovičs
Bariton: David Ristau
Klarinette: Jēkabs Nīmanis
Klavier: Kārlis Tirzītis
Regie & Fassung: Franziska Kronfoth
Musikalische Leitung & Arrangement: Jēkabs Nīmanis
Bühnenbild & Kostüme: Lotta Hench
Videoschnitt: Ieva Stade
Dramaturgie: Evarts Melnalksnis
Produktion: Laura Hörold, Marta Kontiņa & Elizabete Palasiosa
Regieassistenz: Artūrs Čukurs
Bühnenbildassistenz: Inga Bermaka
Kostümassistenz : Nikola Ščadro

Eine Produktion des Musiktheaterkollektiv Hauen und Stechen in Koproduktion mit StoryHub. Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds, das Goethe-Institut und die VV Foundation und unterstützt durch den Verein „Sansusī“.