R.U.R. - ROSSUMS UNIVERSAL ROBOTS

robot opera based on Karl Čapeks 's classic playwright

gamut inc

R.U.R. - ROSSUMS UNIVERSAL ROBOTS

robot opera based on Karl Čapeks 's classic playwright

gamut inc

The robots are coming back! After the sold-out performances in 2022 and 2023, the retro-futuristic ensemble gamut inc brings its robot opera back to the Theater im Delphi.

Blueprint for quite a few science fiction of the 20th century and origin of the term robot: As one of the first literary texts Karl Čapek's "R.U.R. – Rossum’s Universal Robots" deals with the extinction of mankind. It reflects on topics that are still relevant today, such as economic and ecological catastrophes and human hubris. A good century after the premiere, gamut inc, Ruben Reniers, Patric Schott, the RIAS Kammerchor and the German Book Prize-winning librettist Frank Witzel bring an updated version to the stage as musical theater.

Čapek's brother created the neologism "robot" for the work. The famous science fiction author Isaac Asimov called „R.U.R." the "worst important play of its time." The new version transforms the themes of the original into a grotesque world in which intermediate beings made of humans and objects move through live electronic soundscapes, complex light choreographies and optical illusions. They are incessantly pursued by the mass of humans and robots, which the RIAS Kammerchor brings to life as video projections in Orson Welles 's film noir aesthetic.

R.U.R. is supported by Hauptstadt Kulturfonds, Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the Lord Mayor of the City of Cologne/Cultural Office.Media partners: taz.die tageszeitung, tip Berlin, der Freitag

 

Picture: Christoph Voy
Music Theater
Replay

Thursday

2. May | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Friday

3. May | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Saturday

4. May | 8:00 pm

Tickets
Admission charge: 10 € - 15 €
duration: ca. 90 min | no pause

Composition, Concept, Staging & Light Design: gamut inc / Marion Wörle und Maciej Śledziecki
Libretto: Frank Witzel
Choir of humans/choir of robots: RIAS Kammerchor
Conductor: Ralf Sochaczewsky
Soprano: Gina May Walter
Countertenor: Georg A. Bochow
Dance, Choreography: Ruben Reniers
Performance: Patric Schott
Stage Design: Nina Rhode
Costume Design: Britta Rehm, Carla Szerbinski
Make-up: Britta Rehm
Videos: Anne Luft
Graphic Design: Marion Wörle
Sound Direction: Antonio Pulli

Press Votes

"The ensemble gamut inc around computer musician Marion Wörle and composer Maciej Śledziecki has rediscovered the piece and brought it to the stage as a grandiose retro-futuristic opera" (WDR Westart)

"A memorable evening." (NMZ - Neue Musikzeitung)

"Wonderfully dissonant" (Der Freitag).

"Exhausting, but worthwhile [...] the great vocal arrangements, the interplay of cool, choppy robot countertenor and warm choral sound [...]" (rbb kultur)

R.U.R. is supported by Hauptstadt Kulturfonds, Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the Lord Mayor of the City of Cologne/Cultural Office.Media partners: taz.die tageszeitung, tip Berlin, der Freitag

R.U.R. - ROSSUMS UNIVERSAL ROBOTS

robot opera nach Karl Čapeks Klassiker

gamut inc

R.U.R. - ROSSUMS UNIVERSAL ROBOTS

robot opera nach Karl Čapeks Klassiker

gamut inc

Die Roboter kommen zurück! Nach den ausverkauften Vorstellungen 2022 und 2023 bringt das retro-futuristische Ensemble gamut inc seine Roboter-Oper zurück ins Theater im Delphi.

Blaupause für etliche Science-Fiction des 20. Jahrhunderts und Ursprung des Begriffs Roboter: Als einer der ersten literarischen Texte verhandelt Karl Čapeks „R.U.R. – Rossum’s Universal Robots“ die Auslöschung der Menschheit. Reflektiert werden auch heute noch aktuelle Themen wie ökonomische und ökologische Katastrophen sowie menschliche Hybris. Ein gutes Jahrhundert nach der Uraufführung bringen gamut inc, Ruben Reniers, Patric Schott, der RIAS Kammerchor und der Deutsche-Buchpreis-prämierte Librettist Frank Witzel eine aktualisierte Fassung als Musiktheater auf die Bühne.

Čapeks Bruder schuf für das Werk den Neologismus „Roboter“. Der berühmte Science-Fiction-Autor Isaac Asimov nannte „R.U.R." das „schlechteste wichtige Stück seiner Zeit“. Die Neufassung verwandelt die Themen des Originals in eine groteske Welt, in der Zwischenwesen aus Menschen und Objekten sich durch live gespielte elektronisches Klanglandschaften, komplexe Lichtchoreographien und optische Täuschungen bewegen. Unablässig verfolgt werden sie von der Masse der Menschen und Roboter, die der RIAS Kammerchor als Videoprojektionen in Orson Welles ‘scher Film Noir Ästhetik lebendig werden lässt.

R.U.R. wird gefördert durch Hauptstadt Kulturfonds,Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und der Oberbürgermeisterin der Stadt Köln/Kulturamt. Medienpartner: taz.die tageszeitung, tip Berlin, der Freitag

 

Foto: Christoph Voy
Musiktheater
Wiederaufnahme

Donnerstag

2. Mai | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Freitag

3. Mai | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Samstag

4. Mai | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets
Eintrittspreis: 10 € - 15 €
Dauer: ca. 90 Min | Keine Pause

Komposition, Konzept, Inszenierung & Licht: gamut inc / Marion Wörle und Maciej Śledziecki
Libretto: Frank Witzel
Chor der Menschen/Chor der Roboter: RIAS Kammerchor
Dirigent: Ralf Sochaczewsky
Sopran: Gina May Walter
Countertenor: Georg A. Bochow
Tanz, Choreografie: Ruben Reniers
Schauspiel: Patric Schott
Bühne: Nina Rhode
Kostüme: Britta Rehm, Carla Szerbinski
Maske: Britta Rehm
Videos: Anne Luft
Grafikdesign: Marion Wörle
Klangregie: Antonio Pulli

Pressestimmen

"Das Ensemble gamut inc um die Computermusikerin Marion Wörle und den Komponisten Maciej Śledziecki hat das Stück wiederentdeckt und als grandiose retro-futuristische Oper auf die Bühne gebracht" (WDR Westart)

"Ein denkwürdiger Abend." (NMZ - Neue Musikzeitung)

"Wunderbar dissonant" (Der Freitag)

"Anstrengend, aber lohnenswert [...] die tollen Gesangsarrangements, das Wechselspiel von kühlem, abgehackten Roboter Countertenor und warmen Chorklang [...]" (rbb kultur)

R.U.R. wird gefördert durch Hauptstadt Kulturfonds,Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und der Oberbürgermeisterin der Stadt Köln/Kulturamt. Medienpartner: taz.die tageszeitung, tip Berlin, der Freitag