A Fool's Life

4RUDE

Five performers give insights into the life and works of the well-known Japanese author Ryunosuke Akutagawa (»Rashōmon«) and, incidentally, into Japan and its culture through Butoh as the "Dance of Darkness".
The piece based on Akutagawa's autobiographical novel is a translation of the Japanese language into body movement. Akutagawa was known in Japan at the beginning of the 20th century, later he also received international fame through the film adaptation of his novel "Rashōmon". His sharp-edged and concise language style is taken up by 4RUDE with the classical techniques of Japanese Nō-Theatre and the body expression of modern Japanese Butoh as "Dance of Darkness" as well as music composed especially for the piece. www.4rude.com

Background information:
Ryunosuke Akutagawa had been worried all his life about inheriting his mother's mental illness. This and his veneration of the French poet Beaudelaire with his freedom from social constraints, as well as his knowledge of modern European art through Japan's opening to Europe, Europe's culture and colonial politics, were the triggers of psychological fears that drove Akutagawa to early death. His inner constitution is expressed in the sentence: "He lived day after day in the murky darkness, leaning on a dull sword as a walking stick".
Butoh breaks with tradition, which sees dance as an "art of movement" and can rather be defined as an "art of presenting the existence of the body". In relation to music, as with other forms of contemporary expressive dance, the focus is not on the rhythm of the music, but on the feeling that the music awakens.
4RUDE refer in their work to the Butoh of Tatsumi Hijikata and the concept of the "Dance of Darkness", because "Butoh is like a dead body standing upright with all its strength". By resorting to this original understanding of Butoh, something is ventured that rarely occurs in the European developments of this art form: the showing of narrations and imaginary spaces that nobody wants to see. One could say that in European Butoh "darkness" is often omitted, neglected. We, on the other hand, want to illuminate precisely this dark side and thus approach the reality of human existence even more closely.

Performance
With English, German and Japanese titles
Premiere

Das Leben eines Narren

4RUDE

Fünf Performer*innen geben mittels Butoh als „Tanz der Finsternis“ Einblicke in das Leben und Werken des bekannten japanischen Autors Ryunosuke Akutagawa (»Rashōmon«) und ganz nebenbei in das Land Japan und seine Kultur.

Das Stück nach dem autobiographischen Roman von Akutagawa ist eine Übersetzung der japanischen Sprache in Körperbewegung. Akutagawa war im Japan Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts, später auch durch die Verfilmung seines Romans "Rashōmon" international bekannt. Seinen scharfkantigen und prägnanten Sprachstil greifen 4RUDE mit den klassischen Techniken des japanischen Nō-Theaters und dem Körperausdruck des modernen japanischen Butohs als "Tanz der Finsternis" sowie einer eigens für das Stück komponierten Musik auf.

Hintergrund:
Ryunosuke Akutagawa hatte sich sein Leben lang Sorgen gemacht, die Geisteskrankheit seiner Mutter geerbt zu haben. Dies und seine Verehrung des französischen Dichters Beaudelaire und dessen Freiheit von gesellschaftlichen Zwängen sowie die Kenntnis der modernen europäischen Kunst durch die Öffnung Japans zu Europa, Europas Kultur und Kolonialpolitik waren Auslöser von psychischen Ängsten, die Akutagawa in den frühen Tod trieben. Seine innere Verfasstheit drückt sich aus in dem Satz: “Er lebte Tag für Tag in der trüben Finsternis, sich auf ein stumpf gewordenes Schwert als Gehstock stützend.“

Butoh bricht mit der Tradition, die den Tanz als eine „Kunst der Bewegung“ sieht, und kann vielmehr als eine „Kunst der Präsentation der Existenz des Körpers“ definiert werden. Im Bezug zur Musik, wie bei anderen Formen des Ausdruckstanzes der Gegenwart, liegt der Fokus nicht auf dem Rhythmus der Musik, sondern auf dem Gefühl, das die Musik erweckt.
4RUDE beziehen sich in ihrer Arbeit auf den Butoh Tatsumi Hijikatas und den das Konzept des „Tanz der Finsternis“, denn „Butoh ist wie ein toter Körper, der mit aller Kraft aufrecht steht.“ Durch den Rückgriff auf dieses originäre Verständnis des Butoh wird etwas gewagt, was in den europäischen Entwicklungen dieser Kunstform selten vorkommt: Das Zeigen von Narrationen und imaginären Räumen, die niemand sehen will. Man könnte sagen, dass im Europäischen Butoh „die Finsternis“ oft weggelassen, vernachlässigt wird. 4Rude dagegen möchten genau diese dunkle Seite beleuchten, und so noch enger an die Wirklichkeit menschlichen Daseins herantreten.

Performance
Mit englischen, deutschen, japanischen Übertiteln
Uraufführung