HUM-AN Orchestra

repetition repetition repetition BANG BANG

Opera Lab Berlin

HUM-AN Orchestra

repetition repetition repetition BANG BANG

Opera Lab Berlin

On its way to completing the Digital Revolution, humanity has to seek to overcome bias and prejudices that echo from the past. In this music-theatrical adaptation of Mauricio Kagel’s „Zwei Mann Orchester“ humans themselves are integrated seamlessly into a collective digital machine and explore their new digitalised inter-human dynamics, that must rebel against the status-quo. Human interactions become data transfer. Bodies are extended into the digital. Clouds of soot become an omnipotent digital cloud. Where is this all-encompassing machine heading? Who controls the System?

While Kagel's giant multi-layered sculpture of ropes, wires and pulleys still visualizes the upheaval of the Industrial Revolution and its world designed by and for the white man, Opera Lab Berlin brings this piece into the 21st century and beyond, to a future where wires become wireless connections, ropes become digital networks, the transfer of energy becomes transfer of information and - and this is truly revolutionary - humans are no longer in a mere external controlling function. The processes are internalised.

The genesis of this project is intersectional, multimedial and collaborative. They leave structures of the Old World behind and organise themselves in a decentralised network, they counter quantum artificial intelligence with non-binary human swarm intelligence. What does the body mean in the world wide web? What is above the omnipresent Cloud?

Join us on our journey up and beyond, into the uncertain.

----
Opera Lab Berlin, founded in 2013, is a Berlin ensemble for contemporary music theatre and a laboratory for voice and instruments. We are devoted to combining contemporary music with all performing arts. The ensemble brings together artists from all angles of music theatre. We filter, boil and distill, dissolve, burn and freeze, combine, crystalize and melt; until something new emerges.

Music Theater
Premiere

Wednesday

23. Feb | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Thursday

24. Feb | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Friday

25. Feb | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Saturday

26. Feb | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Sunday

27. Feb | 8:00 pm

Tickets
Admission charge: 10 € - 15 €
duration: ca. 60 min | no pause

Language no problem

Voice: Nina Guo
Violin: Davis West
Accordion : Franka Herwig
Dance: Ruben Nsue
Viola: Amanda Bailey
Cello: Guilherme Rodrigues
Piano / Synthesizer: Alba Gentili-Tedeschi
Composition: Mauricio Kagel
Director: Gina May Walter
Musical director, arrangement : Francesca Verga
Choreography/movement director: Ruben Nsue
Stage design : Isabelle Kaiser
Video: Samuel Chalela Puccini
Costume design: Christina Lelli
Light and technical director : Max Rux
Live electronic designer: Simon Walker
Communication Design: Sophie Pischel
Producer: Julie Kurzke
Production Assistance: Tine Elbel
Artistic Director, arrangement : Evan Gardner

Press Votes

“Among the music theater groups in the capital's independent scene, the Opera Lab Berlin troupe is undoubtedly one of the most experimental and refreshing. The name says it all, the collective sees itself as a creative laboratory. The bulging, often brightly coloured pieces of the group are simultaneously opera and instrumental theatre, performance and walk-in installation. Trash and camp go hand in hand with satire, sharp criticism and biting farce.“ Eckhard Weber (Siegessäule, February 2020)

The realization of the project is made possible by funds from the Hauptstadtkulturfonds

HUM-AN Orchestra

repetition repetition repetition BANG BANG

Opera Lab Berlin

HUM-AN Orchestra

repetition repetition repetition BANG BANG

Opera Lab Berlin

Auf dem Weg die Digitale Revolution zu vollenden, muss die Menschheit das Echo vergangener Vorurteile überwinden: In der musiktheatralischen Adaption von Mauricio Kagels „Zwei Mann Orchester“ werden die Menschen nahtlos in die kollektive digitale Maschine eingebunden und erforschen ihre neuen zwischenmenschlichen Dynamiken, um gegen den Status quo zu rebellieren. Menschliche Interaktionen werden zur Datenübertragung. Körper erweitern sich ins Digitale, Rußwolken formen eine omnipotente Cloud. Wohin treibt diese Maschine und wer oder was steuert das System?

Während Kagels vielschichtige Skulptur aus Seilen, Rollen und Drahten noch die Umwälzung der Industriellen Revolution und ihre vom weißen Mann beherrschte Welt sichtbar machte, bringt Opera Lab Berlin das Werk ins 21. Jahrhundert und weist in die Zukunft:

Drahte werden zu drahtlosen Verbindungen, Seile zu digitalen Netzwerken, die Übertragung von Kraft wird Informationstransfer und - das ist wirklich revolutionär - der Mensch ist nicht mehr in extern kontrollierender Funktion. Die Mechanisierung wird verinnerlicht.

Die Stückentwicklung ist intersektionell, multimedial und kollaborativ. Prozesse und Strukturen der Alten Welt machen einem dezentral organisierten Netzwerk Platz: menschliche nicht-binäre Schwarmintelligenz gegen künstliche Quantenintelligenz. Was bedeutet der Körper im World Wide Web? Was genau ist die über allem schwebende Cloud?

Kommen Sie mit auf diese Reise hoch hinauf, ins Ungewisse.

----
Opera Lab Berlin, gegründet 2013, ist ein Ensemble für zeitgenössisches Musiktheater, das sich als ein Labor der Stimme versteht. Hier wird gefiltert, gekocht und destilliert, zersetzt, erhitzt und vereist, verbunden, kristallisiert und wieder eingeschmolzen–und zwar solange, bis dabei etwas wirklich Neues gefunden wird. Erklärtes Ziel ist es, zu experimentieren und die Ergebnisse auf künstlerisch höchstem Niveau der Öffentlichkeit zu präsentieren.

Musiktheater
Uraufführung

Mittwoch

23. Feb | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Donnerstag

24. Feb | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Freitag

25. Feb | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Samstag

26. Feb | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Sonntag

27. Feb | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets
Eintrittspreis: 10 € - 15 €
Dauer: ca. 60 Min | Keine Pause

Sprache kein Problem

Gesang: Nina Guo
Violine: Davis West
Akkordeon: Franka Herwig
Tanz: Ruben Nsue
Bratsche: Amanda Bailey
Cello: Guilherme Rodrigues
Piano / Synthesizer : Alba Gentili-Tedeschi
Komposition: Mauricio Kagel
Regie: Gina May Walter
Musikalische Leitung, Fassung: Francesca Verga
Choreographische Leitung: Ruben Nsue
Bühnenbild: Isabelle Kaiser
Video: Samuel Chalela Puccini
Kostümbild: Christina Lelli
Licht und Technische Leitung: Max Rux
Designer Live-Elektronik: Simon Walker
Kommunikationsdesign: Sophie Pischel
Produktionsleitung: Julie Kurzke
Produktionsassistenz: Tine Elbel
Künstlerische Leitung, Fassung: Evan Gardner

Pressestimmen

„Unter den Musiktheatergruppen in der freien Szene der Hauptstadt ist die Truppe Opera Lab Berlin zweifellos eine der experimentellsten und erfrischendsten. Der Name ist Programm, das Kollektiv versteht sich als kreatives Labor. Die prall gefüllten, gerne grell gefärbten Stücke der Truppe sind gleichzeitig Oper und Instrumentales Theater, Performance und begehbare Installation. Trash und Camp gehen Hand in Hand mit Satire, spitzer Kritik und beißender Farce.“ Eckhard Weber (Siegessäule, Februar 2020)

Die Realisierung des Projektes wird ermöglicht aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds