ODYSSEY: Dead Men Die

Opera Lab Berlin

After nearly three thousand years of travel, Odysseus’ journey comes to an end at an old Berlin film palace - as a movie star in the new Odyssey blockbuster. The triumphant return of the ancient hero, however, takes a turn for the unexpected. And so, the multimedia music theatre spectacle with fifteen singers and musicians, becomes an apocalyptic odyssey through the former Delphi cinema and dives behind the scenes of this heroic epic.

Based on Homer's “Odyssey”, James Joyce's “Ulysses” as well as original texts, composed by Evan Gardner and staged by Michael Höppner, the artist collective Opera Lab Berlin embarks on an adventurous journey through cinematic, theatrical and musical worlds. The movie theatre becomes a magic box in which the ghosts of the past confront us from the future.

Summary

Odysseus meets his “widow” Penelope, a single mother who has almost forgotten him, and his disoriented, half-orphaned son Telemachus, who eagerly awaits him. But the world is out of joint. Instead of a happy family reunion, the war hero is put on trial. Under the judgement of Penelope, he is blamed for the crimes of the patriarchal order and punished as a representative of stereotypical
masculinity by the sirens, Calypso, Circe and Nausikaa. Telemachus does not play along, though. The angry young man seeks his place in a crisis-ridden time and only finds answer in the blind glorification of paternal heroism and the attempt to violently restore the “good old order” of people, nation and family. Contradicting ideologies collide in “ODYSSEY: Dead Men Die”

Premiere

Thursday

30. Jan | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Friday

31. Jan | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Sunday

2. Feb | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Monday

3. Feb | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Tuesday

4. Feb | 8:00 pm

Tickets
Admission charge: 10 € - 15 €
duration: ca. 90 min | no pause

In English and German Part 1 seats on the balcony, part 2, standing room in the parquet. The guests must be able to climb the stairs to the balcony.

Composed by: Evan Gardner
Directed by: Michael Höppner
Vocals: Gina May Walter, Martin Gerke , Georg Bochow , Nina Guo , Sophie Catherin
Drums: Evi Filippou
Flute: Shin-Joo Morgantini
Keyboards: Alba Gentili-Tedeschi
Electronics: Giovanni Zaniol
Clarinet: Jone Bolibar Nunez
Viola: Louis Bona , Benedikt Bindewald
Horn: Sara Breznikar
Guitar: Matthias Koole
Cello: David Eggert
Stage Design: Martin Miotk
Costume Design: Hanna Rode
Video: Christian Striboll
Musical Director: Shin-Joo Morgantini, Louis Bona
Lightning Design: Fabian Eichner
Mask: Martin Rink
Production Management: Christine Elbel
Press Menagement: Dominique Schweizer

Press Votes

"The experimental music theatre [of Opera Lab Berlin] draws on three clearly defined sources: musical post-dramatic theatre, opera and contemporary art music. Opera Lab Berlin is a kind of expert in the creation of complex total works of art". (Andreas Engström, Swedish Magasin Opulens, 20. April 2018)

"The Opera Lab Berlin, a more or less open pool of performers, directors and composers, has been developing music theatre evenings in Berlin since 2013 - at various locations, with changing cast and ideas. A wonderful format". (Bastian Zimmermann in NZ 3/2017)

“ODYSSEY: Dead Men Die” is a production by Opera Lab Berlin. Supported by the Hauptstadtkulturfonds. Media Partner: rbbkultur, Zitty, NMZ, field notes, Digital in Berlin

ODYSSEY: Dead Men Die

Opera Lab Berlin

Nach fast dreitausendjähriger Reise strandet Odysseus im alten Berliner Filmpalast – als Leinwandstar im neuen Odyssee-Blockbuster. Die triumphale Heimkehr des antiken Helden gestaltet sich jedoch anders als erwartet. Und so wird das multimediale Musiktheaterspektakel mit fünfzehn Sänger*innen und Musiker*innen zur apokalyptischen Irrfahrt durch das ehemalige Delphi-Kino und hinter die Kulissen des heroischen Odyssee-Epos.

Das Künstlerensemble Opera Lab Berlin begibt sich auf Grundlage von Homers „Odyssee“, James Joyces „Ulysses“ sowie eigenen Texten in der Komposition von Evan Gardner und der Inszenierung von Michael Höppner auf eine abenteuerliche Reise durch Film-, Theater- und Musikwelten. Der einstige Kinosaal wird zum Zauberkasten, aus dem die Geister der Vergangenheit uns aus der Zukunft entgegentreten.

Inhalt:

Odysseus trifft auf seine Strohwitwe Penelope, eine alleinerziehende Mutter, die ihn fast schon vergessen hat und auf seinen orientierungslosen, halbverwaisten Sohn Telemachos, der ihn sehnlich erwartet. Doch die Welt ist aus den Fugen. Statt einer glücklichen Familienzusammenführung erwartet den Kriegshelden der Prozess. Unter Führung von Penelope wird er von den Sirenen, Kalypso, Kirke, Nausikaa für die Verbrechen der patriarchalen Ordnung verantwortlich gemacht und als Vertreter stereotyper Männlichkeit bestraft.
Doch Telemachos spielt nicht mit: Der wütende junge Mann sucht seinen Platz in einer krisengeschüttelten Zeit und findet Antwort in der blinden Verherrlichung des väterlichen Heldentums und der gewaltsamen Wiederherstellung der „guten alten Ordnung“ von Volk, Nation und Familie. Unversöhnliche Ideologien prallen in »ODYSSEY: Dead Men Die« aufeinander.

Musiktheater
Uraufführung

Donnerstag

30. Jan | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Freitag

31. Jan | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Sonntag

2. Feb | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Montag

3. Feb | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Dienstag

4. Feb | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets
Eintrittspreis: 10 € - 15 €
Dauer: ca. 90 Min | Keine Pause

Komposition: Evan Gardner
Inszenierung: Michael Höppner
Gesang: Gina May Walter, Martin Gerke , Georg Bochow , Nina Guo , Sophie Catherin
Schlagzeug: Evi Filippou
Flöte: Shin-Joo Morgantini
Keyboards: Alba Gentili-Tedeschi
Electronics: Giovanni Zaniol
Klarinette: Jone Bolibar Nunez
Viola: Louis Bona , Florian Peelman
Horn: Clement Alpermann
Gitarre: Matthias Koole
Cello: David Eggert
Bühnenbild : Martin Miotk
Kostüme: Hanna Rode
Video: Christian Striboll
Musikalische Leitung: Shin-Joo Morgantini, Louis Bona
Produktionsleitung: Christine Elbel
Pressearbeit: Dominique Schweizer

In englischer und deutscher Sprache Teil 1, Sitzplätze auf dem Balkon, Teil 2, Stehplätze im Parkett Die Gäste müssen in der Lage sein die Treppenstufen zum Balkon zu bewältigen.

Pressestimmen

"[Das] experimentelle Musiktheater [von Opera Lab Berlin] speist sich aus drei klar definierten Quellen: dem musikalisch-postdramatischen Theater, der Oper und der zeitgenössischen Kunstmusik. Opera Lab Berlin ist eine Art Experte bei der Erstellung komplexer Gesamtkunstwerke." (Andreas Engström im schwedischen Magasin Opulens, 20. April 2018)

„Das Opera Lab Berlin, ein mehr oder weniger offener Pool an PerformerInnen, RegisseurInnen und KomponistInnen, erarbeitet seit 2013 in loser Folge Musiktheaterabende in Berlin – an verschiedenen Orten, mit wechselnden Besetzungen und Ideen. Ein wunderbares Format." (Bastian Zimmermann in NZ 3/2017)

„ODYSSEY: Dead Men Die“ ist eine Produktion von Opera Lab Berlin. Finanziert aus Mitteln des Hauptstadtkulturfonds. Medienpartner: rbbkultur, Zitty, NMZ, field notes, Digital in Berlin