Der doppelte Po

A Chinese-Rhaeto-Romanic and Micro-Interval Solo Opera

David Eggert | Hsuan Huang | Konrad Dietze

Der doppelte Po

A Chinese-Rhaeto-Romanic and Micro-Interval Solo Opera

David Eggert | Hsuan Huang | Konrad Dietze

The first Chinese-Rhaeto-Romanic solo opera! Micro-intervallic music by Harry Partch and David Eggert combines with an enchanting narrative based on the poetry of the double Po. This is surprising and hilarious!

The Moon tells a young man what he heard during his journey. With scenes, images and music, it takes us on a journey into the poetic world of the Chinese Li Po (Li Bai 李白 (701-762)) and the rhaeto-roman Chasper Po (1856-1936). Follow this fantastic tale of loneliness, longing, love, friendship, drinking and hallucination. The fine music is by Harry Partch and David Eggert and resounds in the shimmering colours of a tonal system derived from the overtones, sometimes with tiny, irregular intervals.

---
David Eggert, who grew up in Canada, is professor of violoncello at the Bern University of the Arts and musical director of the music theatre Opera Lab Berlin.
Hsuan Huang, who grew up in Taiwan, completed her stage design studies as a master student at the UdK Berlin and is regularly engaged by opera houses in Germany as a stage and costume designer.
Konrad Dietze works as a lighting designer for festivals as well as for independent theatre and opera productions in Germany and abroad.

Funded byHochschule der Künste Bern, Kulturförderung Graubünden. Amt für Kultur – swisslos, Stiftung Corymbo, Landis&Gyr Stiftung, Foundation Nestlé pour l'Art, Willi Muntwyler-Stiftung, UBS Kulturstiftung, Tino Walz Stiftung, Stiftung Biblioteca Engiadinaisa

 

 

 

 

Music Theater | Performance

Friday

7. Oct | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Saturday

8. Oct | 4:00 pm

Tickets

Saturday

8. Oct | 8:00 pm

Tickets
Admission charge: 10 € - 15 €

Chinese, Rhaeto-Romanic, English

Deklamation, Cello piccolo, Xun: David Eggert
Director, equipment: Hsuan Huang
Lighting Design: Konrad Dietze

Press Votes

"The humorous music theatre by Eggert, Huang and Dietze [...] combined the poems of the Rhaeto-Romanic and Chinese Pos dramaturgically, scenographically and musically in such a perfectly coordinated structure that one thought one could hear the entirety and the individual poems at the same time - a Chinese-Rhaeto-Romanic hallucination that resonated for a long time". (Engadiner Post / Posta Ladina, 2021)

Funded byHochschule der Künste Bern, Kulturförderung Graubünden. Amt für Kultur – swisslos, Stiftung Corymbo, Landis&Gyr Stiftung, Foundation Nestlé pour l'Art, Willi Muntwyler-Stiftung, UBS Kulturstiftung, Tino Walz Stiftung, Stiftung Biblioteca Engiadinaisa

Der doppelte Po

Eine chinesisch-rätoromanische-mikrointervallische Solo-Oper

David Eggert | Hsuan Huang | Konrad Dietze

Der doppelte Po

Eine chinesisch-rätoromanische-mikrointervallische Solo-Oper

David Eggert | Hsuan Huang | Konrad Dietze

Die erste chinesisch-rätoromanische Solo-Oper! Mikrointervallische Musik von Harry Partch und David Eggert verbindet sich mit einer bezaubernden, auf der Lyrik des doppelten Po basierenden Erzählung.

Der Mond erzählt einem jungen Mann, was er während seiner Reise vernahm. Mit Szenen, Bildern und Musik führt er uns auf eine Reise in die dichterische Welt des Chinesen Li Po (Li Bai 李白 (701-762)) und des Rätoromanen Chasper Po (1856-1936). Folgen Sie dieser phantastischen Erzählung über Einsamkeit, Sehnsucht, Liebe, Freundschaft, über das Trinken und die Halluzination. Die feine Musik stammt von Harry Partch und David Eggert und erklingt in den schillernden Farben eines aus den Obertönen abgeleiteten Tonsystems mit teils winzigen, unregelmässigen Intervallen.

---
David Eggert, aufgewachsen in Kanada, ist Professor für Violoncello an der Hochschule der Künste Bern sowie Musikalischer Leiter des Musiktheaters Opera Lab Berlin.
Hsuan Huang, aufgewachsen in Taiwan, schloss ihr Bühnenbildstudium als Meisterschülerin an der UdK Berlin ab und wird als Bühnen- und Kostümbildnerin regelmässig von den Opernhäusern Deutschlands engagiert.
Konrad Dietze arbeitet als Lichtdesigner für Festivals sowie für Theater- und Opernproduktionen der Freien Szene in Deutschland und im Ausland.

Gefördert durch Hochschule der Künste Bern, Kulturförderung Graubünden. Amt für Kultur – swisslos, Stiftung Corymbo, Landis&Gyr Stiftung, Foundation Nestlé pour l'Art, Willi Muntwyler-Stiftung, UBS Kulturstiftung, Tino Walz Stiftung, Stiftung Biblioteca Engiadinaisa

 

 

 

 

Musiktheater | Performance

Freitag

7. Okt | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Samstag

8. Okt | 16:00 Uhr

Tickets

Samstag

8. Okt | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets
Eintrittspreis: 10 € - 15 €

Chinesisch, Rätoromanisch, Englisch

Deklamation, Violoncello piccolo, Xun: David Eggert
Regie, Ausstattung: Hsuan Huang
Lichtdesign: Konrad Dietze

Pressestimmen

“Das humorvolle Musiktheater von Eggert, Huang und Dietze […] verband die Gedichte des rätoromanischen und des chinesischen Pos dramaturgisch, szenografisch wie musikalisch in so perfekt abgestimmter Struktur, dass man neben den einzelnen Gedichten zugleich ein Ganzes zu vernehmen meinte – eine chinesisch-rätoromanische Halluzination, die noch lange nachhallte.» (Engadiner Post / Posta Ladina, 2021)

Gefördert durch Hochschule der Künste Bern, Kulturförderung Graubünden. Amt für Kultur – swisslos, Stiftung Corymbo, Landis&Gyr Stiftung, Foundation Nestlé pour l'Art, Willi Muntwyler-Stiftung, UBS Kulturstiftung, Tino Walz Stiftung, Stiftung Biblioteca Engiadinaisa