BRUNHILD

The story of the Nibelungen from the perspctive of a person affected

Lyriden*18

BRUNHILD

The story of the Nibelungen from the perspctive of a person affected

Lyriden*18

A fresh feminist rewriting of the Nibelungen narrative that explores the dark reason for the so called Nibelungentreue.

Why does the invincible warrior Brunhild lose all her strength on her second wedding night in the frame of the from Nibelungenlied? What is behind the secret alliance of King Gunther, Siegfried and Hagen? What is the blank space, what is actually unsaid, in this tale that has been handed down for over 1000 years?

In order to be able to ask these questions, the LYRIDEN*18 sample the most important texts and stories about the figue of Brunhild, rearrangeing them in old and new languages and in the most different time and style levels. The myth of Brunhild is rewritten on stage by six actors and a small live orchestra to rehabilitate the figure of Brunhild as what she once was: a strong woman and warrior.

---
The Lyrids*18 is an open music theater ensemble founded in 2018 by Uta and Marcus Hertneck in collaboration with Olga Riazantceva-Schwarz to develop interdisciplinary projects such as dance theater performances, choreographed vocal concerts, experimental short films and text-based theater pieces together with other freelance artists. The projects focus on overwritings that deal with toxic narratives of the theatrical canon and the present, in order to then feed them into the background noise of narratives in a new texture.

Music Theater

Thursday

2. Jun | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Friday

3. Jun | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Saturday

4. Jun | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Sunday

5. Jun | 8:00 pm

Tickets
Admission charge: 10 € - 15 €
duration: ca. 120 min | no pause

Actors: Anthea Heyner (Brunhild), Anja Kunzmann (Psychologin), Falk Philippe Pognan (Siegfried), Jacob Keller (Gunther), Katrin Schönermark (Königin Ute, Hagen), Renée Stulz (Kriemhild)
Music: Elias Aboud (Schlagzeug), Fadwa Qamhia (Kontrabass), Paulo Francke Negreiros (Cello), Richard Schwarz (Querflöte)
Stage Direction & Script: Uta Hertneck
Compostion & Music Direction: Olga Riazantceva-Schwarz
Costume Design: Susanne Weiske
Lighting: Jennifer Kirchhoff, Christian Meerstedt
Scenery Painting: Simone Westphal
Dramaturgy & Script: Marcus Hertneck

A production of the music theater ensemble LYRIDEN*18 in cooperation with hertneck & hertneck Theaterproduktion GbR

BRUNHILD

Die Geschichte der Nibelungen aus der Sicht einer Betroffenen

Lyriden*18

BRUNHILD

Die Geschichte der Nibelungen aus der Sicht einer Betroffenen

Lyriden*18

Eine frisch-feministische Überschreibung des Nibelungen-Narrativs, die den dunklen Grund der Nibelungentreue erforscht.

Weswegen verliert die unbesiegbare Kriegerin Brunhild im Nibelungenlied in der zweiten Hochzeitsnacht all ihre Kraft? Was steckt hinter dem geheimen Bund von König Gunther, Siegfried und Hagen? Was ist die Leerstelle, was das eigentlich Ungesagte, in dieser seit über 1000 Jahren überlieferten Erzählung?

Um diese Fragen stellen zu können, sampeln die LYRIDEN*18 die wichtigsten Texte und Erzählungen über die Brunhild-Figur, um sie in alten und neuen Sprachen und in den unterschiedlichsten Zeit-, und Stilebenen neu zu arrangieren. Dabei wird der Mythos der Brunhild mit sechs Schauspieler:innen und einem kleinen Live-Orchester auf der Bühne neu geschrieben - und die Figur der Brunhild als das rehabilitiert, was sie einst war: eine starke Frau und Kriegerin.

---
Die Lyriden*18 sind ein offenes Musiktheater-Ensemble, das im Jahr 2018 von Uta und Marcus Hertneck in Zusammenarbeit mit Olga Riazantceva-Schwarz gegründet wurde, um gemeinsam mit weiteren freien Künstler:innen interdisziplinäre Projekte wie Tanztheater-Performances, choreografierte Vokalkonzerte, experimentelle Kurzfilme und textbasierte Theaterstücke zu entwickeln. Schwerpunkt der Projekte sind Überschreibungen, die sich mit toxischen Narrativen des Theaterkanons und der Gegenwart auseinandersetzen, um diese dann in neuer Textur in das Grundrauschen der Narrative einzuspeisen.

Musiktheater

Donnerstag

2. Jun | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Freitag

3. Jun | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Samstag

4. Jun | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Sonntag

5. Jun | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets
Eintrittspreis: 10 € - 15 €
Dauer: ca. 120 Min | Keine Pause

Schauspiel: Anthea Heyner (Brunhild), Anja Kunzmann (Psychologin), Falk Philippe Pognan (Siegfried), Jacob Keller (Gunther), Katrin Schönermark (Königin Ute, Hagen), Renée Stulz (Kriemhild)
Musilk: Elias Aboud (Schlagzeug), Fadwa Qamhia (Kontrabass), Paulo Francke Negreiros (Cello), Richard Schwarz (Querflöte)
Regie & Text: Uta Hertneck
Komposition & Musikalische Leitung: Olga Riazantceva-Schwarz
Kostümbild: Susanne Weiske
Licht: Jennifer Kirchhoff, Christian Meerstedt
Kulissenmalerei: Simone Westphal
Dramaturgie & Text: Marcus Hertneck

Eine Produktion des Musiktheaterensembles LYRIDEN*18 in Zusammenarbeit mit der hertneck & hertneck Theaterproduktion GbR