Life as it is Lived

Elpida Orfanidou & Igor Dobričić

Life as it is Lived

Elpida Orfanidou & Igor Dobričić

What does it mean to perform “life as it is lived” in a (post)pandemic era of dematerialised and mediated social exchange? “Life as it is Lived” is a film-performance that is using the process of movie-making to stage cinema-going as a live event, merging cinematic and theatrical procedures into an unexpected hybrid form in an effort to answer this urgent question.

Inspired by the technical and conceptual innovations of an iconic french movie from 1961 “Chronicle of a Summer” performance maker Elpida Orfanidou and dramaturge Igor Dobričić are attempting to reinvent the ethnographic notions of locality, fiction, and reality. The evening will be blending situations of a classical movie projection and of a bar gathering where shots and shorts will be served by the artists themselves.

ATTENTION: To make the event as Corona safe as possible we ask the audience to bring their own internet-enabled device (notebook, tablet, cellphone) and suitable headphones. In addition, access to participate in a Zoom meeting is required.

---
Elpida Orfanidou
Elpida Orfanidou is a choreographer, pianist, pharmacist based in Berlin. In her projects so far she approached the genre of cinema and incorporated a documentary perspective nourished by her biographical journey. Her latest works alchemize tradition, crafts, ethnography and film with a choreographic approach. She recently presented the one-on-one event "Songtellers" for the far festival in Nyon (CH) and currently she prepares the film-performance "Life As It Is Lived" together with Igor Dobričić and a diverse team of artists. Elpida´s work has been presented at various venues and festivals in Europe, including Tanz im August, HAU, Sophiensaele , Athens Festival, Onassis Cultural Centre Athens, La Casa Encendida Madrid, Brisbane Festival. She has worked a.o. with Hermann Heisig, Marialena Marouda, Fabrice Mazliah, Daniel Wittkopp, Simone Truong, Meg Stuart, Tim Etchells, Evangellia Kranioti, May Zarhy.

Igor Dobričić
Igor Dobričić studied dramaturgy at the Academy of Dramatic Arts in Belgrade (Serbia) and attended a MA theatre course at DasArts in Amsterdam (Netherlands). From 1995 until 1999 he worked as a dramaturg for the Belgrade International Theatre Festival (BITEF). As a program officer for the arts at the European Cultural Foundation (2000-2008), he initiated the international support platform for the arts, ALMOST REAL. As a research fellow with the Amsterdam School of the Arts (2009-2010), he articulated a long-term research project Table Talks (TT). From 2010 until 2011, he was in-house dramaturge of Het Veem Theatre (Amsterdam). As a dramaturge he collaborates with choreographers/makers Nicole Beutler, Keren Levi, Guillaume Marie, Diego Gil, Alma Sodeberg, Shannon Cooney and Meg Stuart a.o. Dobricic has ongoing engagements with the Choreographic Centre Hamburg (K3), Amsterdam Master of Choreography (AMCh) and the Amsterdam Master of Theatre (DasArts).
---
Credits

Idea and Performance: Elpida Orfanidou & Igor Dobričić

Cinematography: Roger Sala Reyner, Igor Dobričić, Elpida Orfanidou,
Ana Rocha

Artistic Assistance and Creative Production: Ana Rocha

Sound design: Tian Rotteveel
Light design: Miloš Vjuković

Editing Assistance: Konstantina Messini
Documentation: Diego Agulló
Poster Design: Ana Teresa Ascensäo
Production: Ana Veiga Riscado/Mikado Blue
Moveable Cinema Practice: Shannon Cooney
Participants: Xenia, Kostas, Dimitris, Nikos, Spyros, Tante Efi, Tassos, May, Konstantina, Olympia, Ash, Katerina, Stelios, Irini, Brice, David and Papa Silenus.

Performance | Film
Premiere

Sunday

13. Feb | 7:00 pm

Tickets

Monday

14. Feb | 7:00 pm

Tickets

Tuesday

15. Feb | 7:00 pm

Tickets

Wednesday

16. Feb | 7:00 pm

Tickets
Admission charge: 10 € - 15 €
duration: ca. 180 min | no pause

In English

Supported by Onassis Air Athens and Theater im Delphi Funding by Hauptstadtkulturfonds Berlin

Life as it is Lived

Elpida Orfanidou & Igor Dobričić

Life as it is Lived

Elpida Orfanidou & Igor Dobričić

Was bedeutet es, das "gelebte Leben" in einer (post)pandemischen Ära des entmaterialisierten und vermittelten sozialen Austauschs aufzuführen? In Form einer Inszenierung des Kinobesuchs als Live-Ereignis denkt die Film-Performance „Live as it is Lived“ Begriffe wie Lokalität, Fiktion und Realität neu, um diese dringende Frage zu beantworten.

Inspiriert von den technischen und konzeptionellen Innovationen des ikonischen französischen Films "Chronik eines Sommers" aus dem Jahr 1961 verschmelzen die Performance-Macherin Elpida Orfanidou und der Dramaturg Igor Dobričić filmische und theatralische Verfahren zu einer unerwarteten Hybridform: Die Künstler:innen servieren Shots und Shorts an diesem Abend irgendwo zwischen klassischer Filmvorführung und Szenen einer Barveranstaltung.

ACHTUNG: Um die Veranstaltung so Corona-sicher wie möglich zu machen, bitten wir die Teilnehmenden ein eigenes Internet-fähiges Endgerät mitzubringen (Notebook, Tablet, Smartphone) und passende Kopfhörer. Zusätzlich wird eine Zugangsmöglichkeit zur Teilnahme an einem Zoom-Meeting benötigt.

---
Elpida Orfanidou
Elpida Orfanidou ist Choreografin, Pianistin und Apothekerin und lebt in Berlin. In ihren bisherigen Projekten hat sie sich dem Genre des Kinos genähert und eine dokumentarische Perspektive einbezogen, die durch ihre biografische Reise unterstützt wurde. In ihren jüngsten Arbeiten verbindet sie Tradition, Handwerk, Ethnografie und Film mit einem choreografischen Ansatz. Kürzlich präsentierte sie die Einzelveranstaltung "Songtellers" für das far Festival in Nyon (CH) und bereitet derzeit die Film-Performance "Life As It Is Lived" zusammen mit Igor Dobričić und einem vielfältigen Team von Künstlern vor. Ihre Arbeit wurde an verschiedenen Orten und Festivals in Europa gezeigt, darunter Tanz im August, HAU, Sophiensaele, Athens Festival, Onassis Cultural Centre Athens, La Casa Encendida Madrid, Brisbane Festival. Sie hat u.a. mit Hermann Heisig, Marialena Marouda, Fabrice Mazliah, Daniel Wittkopp, Simone Truong, Meg Stuart, Tim Etchells, Evangellia Kranioti, May Zarhy gearbeitet.

Igor Dobričić
Igor Dobričić studierte Dramaturgie an der Akademie für Dramatische Künste in Belgrad (Serbien) und absolvierte einen MA-Theaterkurs bei DasArts in Amsterdam (Niederlande). Von 1995 bis 1999 arbeitete er als Dramaturg für das Belgrader Internationale Theaterfestival (BITEF). Als Programmbeauftragter für die Künste bei der Europäischen Kulturstiftung (2000-2008) initiierte er die internationale Unterstützungsplattform für die Künste, ALMOST REAL. Als Forschungsstipendiat an der Amsterdam School of the Arts (2009-2010) hat er ein langfristiges Forschungsprojekt Table Talks (TT) ins Leben gerufen. Von 2010 bis 2011 war er Hausdramaturg des Theaters Het Veem (Amsterdam). Als Dramaturg arbeitet er mit den Choreographen/Machern Nicole Beutler, Keren Levi, Guillaume Marie, Diego Gil, Alma Sodeberg, Shannon Cooney und Meg Stuart u.a. zusammen. Dobricic hat laufende Engagements mit dem Choreographischen Zentrum Hamburg (K3), dem Amsterdam Master of Choreography (AMCh) und dem Amsterdam Master of Theatre (DasArts).

---
Credits
Idee und Performance: Elpida Orfanidou & Igor Dobričić

Kinematographie: Roger Sala Reyner, Igor Dobričić, Elpida Orfanidou,
Ana Rocha

Künstlerische Assistenz und kreative Produktion: Ana Rocha

Sounddesign: Tian Rotteveel
Lichtdesign: Miloš Vjuković

Editing Assistenz: Konstantina Messini
Dokumentation: Diego Agulló
Poster Design: Ana Teresa Ascensäo
Produktion: Ana Veiga Riscado/Mikado Blue
Bewegliches Kino: Shannon Cooney

Mit: Xenia, Kostas, Dimitris, Nikos, Spyros, Tante Efi, Tassos, May, Konstantina, Olympia, Ash, Katerina, Stelios, Irini, Brice, David and Papa Silenus.

Performance | Film
Uraufführung

Sonntag

13. Feb | 19:00 Uhr

Tickets

Montag

14. Feb | 19:00 Uhr

Tickets

Dienstag

15. Feb | 19:00 Uhr

Tickets

Mittwoch

16. Feb | 19:00 Uhr

Tickets
Eintrittspreis: 10 € - 15 €
Dauer: ca. 180 Min | Keine Pause

In englischer Sprache

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung durch Onassis Air Athens und Theater im Delphi. Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds Berlin