robot opera R.U.R. - ROSSUMS UNIVERSAL ROBOTS

gamut inc

robot opera R.U.R. - ROSSUMS UNIVERSAL ROBOTS

gamut inc

Music theater based on Karl Capek's ROSSUMS UNIVERSAL ROBOTS - blueprint for quite a few science fiction of the 20th century and origin of the term robot. 101 years after the premiere gamut inc together with the RIAS Kammerchor and the award-winning librettist Frank Witzel bring an updated version as music theaterto the stage.

Isaac Asimov called it the "worst important play of its time". The author's brother created the neologism "robot" for the play. Karl Capek's ROSSUMS UNIVERSAL ROBOTS is considered a blueprint for quite a bit of 20th century science fiction and still reflects current themes such as economic and ecological catastrophes as well as human hubris.

The robots in the play are developed by a handful of scientists on an island and sold in raucous quantities around the world. They are organic human-like beings, so they are not mechanical devices. Over time, their "DNA" code evolves so that they no longer have any desire to be controlled by humans. A robot uprising ensues. In a brilliant assault, they take control on the island, and subsequently over the entire planet. As a result, the entire human race is wiped out without further ado. The robots, however, are now missing the essential formula for their own generation, because it was burned by Helena, the wife of the head of R.U.R.. Fortunately, however, a single person remained alive on the island, who is now to reproduce the formula. This is Alquist, but unfortunately he is not a scientist...

Further performances in February 5 & 6 2022 20:00 @ Comedia Cologne

|
Premiere

Thursday

20. Jan | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Friday

21. Jan | 8:00 pm

Tickets

Saturday

22. Jan | 8:00 pm

Tickets
Admission charge: 10 € - 13 €

Composition, Concept, Staging, Stage & Light Design: gamut inc / Marion Wörle und Maciej Sledziecki
Libretto: Frank Witzel
Choir of humans/choir of robots: RIAS Kammerchor
Conductor: Justin Doyle
Vocals: Gina May Walter, Georg A. Bochow
Dance, Choreography: Ruben Reniers
Performance: Patric Schott
Records & Documentation: Anne Luft, Anja Simon
Videos, Graphic Design: Marion Wörle
Sound Direction: Olivia Oyama
Mastering: Robert Nacken
Production Management: Philip Gann
Photo Documentation: Christoph Voy

R.U.R. is supported by Hauptstadt Kulturfonds, Ministry of Culture and Science of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the Lord Mayor of the City of Cologne/Cultural Office.

robot opera R.U.R. - ROSSUMS UNIVERSAL ROBOTS

gamut inc

robot opera R.U.R. - ROSSUMS UNIVERSAL ROBOTS

gamut inc

Musiktheater nach Karl Capeks ROSSUMS UNIVERSAL ROBOTS - Blaupause für etliche Science-Fiction des 20. Jahrhunderts und Ursprung des Begriffs Roboter. 101 Jahre nach der Uraufführung bringen gamut inc gemeinsam mit dem RIAS Kammerchor und dem preisgekrönten Librettisten Frank Witzel eine aktualisierte Fassung als Musiktheater auf die Bühne.

Isaac Asimov nannte es das „schlechteste wichtige Stück seiner Zeit“. Der Bruder des Autors schuf für das Stück den Neologismus „Roboter“. Karl Capeks ROSSUMS UNIVERSAL ROBOTS gilt als Blaupause für etliche Science-Fiction des 20. Jahrhunderts und reflektiert auch heute noch aktuelle Themen wie ökonomische und ökologische Katastrophen sowie menschliche Hybris.

Die Roboter in dem Stück werden von einer Handvoll Wissenschaftler auf einer Insel entwickelt und in rauen Mengen auf der ganzen Welt verkauft. Sie sind organische menschenähnliche Wesen, also keine mechanischen Apparate. Über die Zeit entwickelt sich ihr „DNA“ Code, sodass sie auf die Kontrolle der Menschen keine Lust mehr haben. Es kommt zum Roboteraufstand. In einem fulminanten Übergriff übernehmen sie die Kontrolle auf der Insel, und hernach über den gesamten Planeten. Infolge wird die gesamte Menschheit kurzerhand ausgerottet. Den Robotern fehlt nun allerdings die wesentliche Formel zu ihrer eigenen Erzeugung, denn diese wurde von Helena, der Frau des Unternehmensleiters von R.U.R. verbrannt. Zum Glück allerdings blieb auf der Insel ein einziger Mensch am Leben, der die Formel nun reproduzieren soll. Dabei handelt es sich um Alquist, der aber leider kein Naturwissenschaftler ist...

Weitere Vorstellungen im Februar 5. & 6. 2022 20:00 Uhr @ Comedia Köln

Zeitgenössische Oper | Musiktheater
Uraufführung

Donnerstag

20. Jan | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Freitag

21. Jan | 16:00 Uhr

Tickets

Freitag

21. Jan | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets

Samstag

22. Jan | 20:00 Uhr

Tickets
Eintrittspreis: 10 € - 13 €
Dauer: ca. 120 Min | Keine Pause

Komposition, Konzept, Inszenierung, Bühne & Licht: gamut inc / Marion Wörle und Maciej Sledziecki
Libretto: Frank Witzel
Chor der Menschen/Chor der Roboter: RIAS Kammerchor
Dirigent: Justin Doyle
Gesang: Gina May Walter, Georg A. Bochow
Tanz, Choreografie: Ruben Reniers
Performer: Patric Schott
Aufzeichnungen & Dokumentation: Anne Luft, Anja Simon
Videos, Grafikdesign: Marion Wörle
Klangregie: Olivia Oyama
Mastering: Robert Nacken
Produktionsleitung: Philip Gann
Fotodokumentation: Christoph Voy

R.U.R. wird gefördert durch Hauptstadt Kulturfonds,Ministerium für Kultur und Wissenschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen und der Oberbürgermeisterin der Stadt Köln/Kulturamt